What is Bergamot?

Many, for sure, once in my life I tried tea with bergamot. its slim, tart and spicy, fresh taste is difficult with something confused. From this taste is not able to give up many, becoming its worshipers for life. What kind of bergamot is added to tea, What is the history of tea with bergamot?

What is Bergamot?

bergamot, which is added to the blend of black tea - this is not some kind of herb or spice, which gives it the exquisite and unique aroma and taste, this essential oil plant of the same name. Bergamot - beautiful, vechnozelenoe plant families Rutovыh, genus Citrus, rather, hybrid, obtained by crossing with orange citron. Its unusual pear shape and color resemble the type of pear varieties of bergamot, but, to them he has nothing.
The name "bergamot" plant received, as some, from the Italian city of Bergamo, where it began to grow and sell derived from fruit and leaf essential oil. However, there are other versions, in which the word "bergamot" comes from the Turkish "race Armudu", which means prince or master's pear.
There is an interesting legend about, how I was first obtained tea with bergamot. it says, that once the ship, which carried the Chinese tea, as well as bergamot oil capacity, caught in a storm. During the storm, bergamot oil leaked from crashed container and got on bales of tea, So I get it a new variety.
It is unlikely that it was just so, as the Chinese have long used the oil of citrus to flavor tea.
Tea with bergamot "Lord Gray ' (Earl Grey)
Classic variety of tea «Earl Grey» with aromatic oil of bergamot has a leading position in the collections of many tea producers.
Gray Earl was a real person, living in England 19 century, and occupied at different times as foreign minister, Prime Minister and First Lord of the Admiralty. they say, that he was very fond of Chinese tea with bergamot, because trading Tea Company, previously founded by Thomas Twining, greatly expanded trade this variety of tea.
Modern tea market offers also grade "Lady Gray", where the aroma of bergamot hardly will catch, but mostly there are lemon-orange notes. В сорте «Russian Earl Gray» bergamot flavor, conversely, prevails, the "smoky" tea reminiscent of the old varieties of tea, which were popular in Russia, when she gets another caravan way from China.

How to brew and drink tea with bergamot?1L5GTJda2tQoe6s

Fragrant and refreshing drink you can drink all day long. Brew it should be as follows::

  • Heat up the teapot, rinsing it with boiling water
  • Sleep tea is based 1 no. l. a glass of water
  • Pour hot, but not boiling water, cover with a lid and wait 4 minutes.

note, that tea with bergamot better podsladit honey, it is not really combined with milk. Some experts believe, that interrupts the lemon scent of fragrant bergamot, I do not recommend that you submit it to the Tea Party.

Show comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Что такое бергамот?

Многие, наверняка, хоть раз в жизни пробовали чай с бергамотом. Его тонкий, терпко-пряный, свежий вкус трудно с чем-то спутать. От такого вкуса не многие в силах отказаться, становясь его почитателями на всю жизнь. Что же за бергамот добавляют в чай, какова история создания чая с бергамотом?

    Что такое бергамот?

Бергамот, который добавляют в купаж черного чая – это не какая-то трава или специя, которая придает ему тот изысканный и неповторимый аромат и вкус, это эфирное масло одноименного растения. Бергамот – красивое, вечнозеленое растение семейства Рутовых, рода Цитрусовых, а точнее, гибрид, полученный путем скрещивания цитрона с померанцем. Его необычная грушевидная форма и цвет напоминают по виду груши сорта бергамот, однако, к ним он не имеет никакого отношения.
Название «бергамот» растение получило, как считают некоторые, от итальянского города Бергамо, где его стали выращивать и продавать полученное из плодов и листьев эфирное масло. Однако есть и другие версии, по которым слово «бергамот» произошло от турецкого «бег армуды», что в переводе означает княжеская или господская груша.
Существует интересная легенда о том, как впервые был получен чай с бергамотом. Она гласит, что однажды корабль, на котором везли китайский чай, а также емкости с маслом бергамота, попал в бурю. Во время шторма масло бергамота вытекло из разбившейся тары и попало на тюки с чаем, так получился его новый сорт.
Вряд ли все было именно так, поскольку китайцы издавна использовали масло цитрусовых для ароматизации чая.
Чай с бергамотом «Лорд Грей» (Earl Grey)
Классический сорт чая «Earl Grey» с ароматической добавкой масла бергамота занимает ведущее место в чайных коллекциях многих производителей.
Граф Грей был реальный человек, живший в Англии в 19 веке, и занимавший в разное время посты министра иностранных дел, премьер-министра и первого лорда Адмиралтейства. Говорят, что он очень любил китайский чай с бергамотом, потому торговая чайная компания, ранее основанная Томасом Твайнингом, значительно расширила торговлю этим сортом чая.
Современный рынок чая предлагает также сорта «Леди Грэй», где аромат бергамота едва уловим, но в большей степени присутствуют лимонно-апельсиновые нотки. В сорте «Russian Earl Gray» аромат бергамота, наоборот, преобладает, этот чай «с дымком» напоминает те старинные сорта чая, которые были популярны в России, когда она их получала еще караванным способом из Китая.

    Как правильно заваривать и пить чай с бергамотом?1L5GTJda2tQoe6s

Ароматный и бодрящий напиток можно пить в течение всего дня. Заваривать его необходимо следующим образом:

  •  Подогреем заварочный чайник, ополоснув его кипятком
  •  Засыпаем чай из расчета 1 ч. л. на стакан воды
  •  Заливаем горячей, но не кипящей водой, накрываем крышкой и ждем 4 минуты.

Обратите внимание, что чай с бергамотом лучше подсладить медом, он не очень-то сочетается с молоком. Некоторые знатоки считают, что и лимон перебивает аромат душистого бергамота, не рекомендуя подавать его к чаепитию.

Показать комментарии

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *