What is Ethernet

Today, Ethernet is the most popular network technology. The first mention of Ethernet appeared in 1972 city, data is then forwarded at a speed of up to 3 Mbit / s. Ethernet What is learned in the world in 1973, when Robert Metcalfe described the potential of the new technology to its management.

What is Ethernet

What is Ethernet

history Ethernet

In 1979. Robert created the company 3com, Create a network equipment. In 1980. It appeared DIX Ethernet standard, 3com and has become a leader in the field of network technologies. The first official Ethernet standard was created in 1983. First, computers were connected by coaxial cable. Later widely used twisted pair and fiber optic cables, making it possible to simultaneously transmit / receive data, and the speed began to reach 100 Mbit / s.

Existing Ethernet standards also explain, What is Ethernet. They differ in the rate of exchange, type of building and network cables, the maximum size of a network segment (network length is increased by connecting several cables via repeaters). The most famous are:

The concept of Ethernet

  • Xerox Ethernet technology, where the transfer takes place via a coaxial cable at speeds 3 Mbit / s;
  • StarLan is a modification of the original technology, wherein data is exchanged over a twisted pair at a rate, reaching 1 Mbit / s;
  • 10BASE5 – modification, wherein the speed reaches 10 Mbit / s. using a coaxial cable;
  • StarLan10 – when connecting a twisted pair for the first time the speed began to reach 10 Mbit / s., It was later modified in 10BASE-T (involved 4 wire);
  • 100BASE-T – modification, where the twisted pair cable is used (3 or 5 categories), and the speed reaches 100 Mbit / s;
  • 100BASE-FX uses fiber optics and data is transmitted at a speed of, reaching 100 Mbit / s., and the maximum segment length is 10 km;
  • 1000BASE-T is the exchange rate reaches 1000 Mbit / s., using twisted pair (type 5e), in taking part 4 vapor (segment length - up 100 m.);
  • 1000BASE-LH – the transmission speed reaches 1000 Mbit / s., It uses fiber (to 100 km.).
  • Today Ethernet continues to evolve, and 2015 It was expected to appear Technology, wherein the application speed reaches 1 Tbit / s. For such high rates will need full technical update, and the use of optics fibreless (FSO-technology). Thereafter, possibly, Questions What is Ethernet, will have a different response.
Show comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Что такое Ethernet

Сегодня Ethernet остается самой популярной сетевой технологией. Первые упоминания о Ethernet появились в 1972 г., данные тогда пересылались со скоростью до 3 Мбит/сек. Что такое Ethernet в мире узнали в 1973г, когда Роберт Меткалф описал потенциал новой технологии своему руководству.

Что такое Ethernet

Что такое Ethernet

История Ethernet

В 1979г. Роберт создал компанию 3com, создающую сетевое оборудование. В 1980г. появился стандарт DIX Ethernet, а 3com стала лидером в сфере сетевых технологий. Первый официальный стандарт Ethernet был создан в 1983г. Сначала компьютеры соединялись коаксиальным кабелем. Позднее нашли широкое применение витые пары и оптоволоконные кабели, дающие возможность одновременно передавать/принимать данные, а скорость стала достигать 100 Мбит/сек.

Существующие стандарты Ethernet также объясняют, что такое Ethernet. Они различаются по скорости обмена, типу строения сети и кабелей, максимальному размеру сегмента сети (протяженность сети увеличивается соединением нескольких кабелей с помощью повторителей). К самым известным относятся:

Понятие Ethernet

  •      Xerox Ethernet – технология, где пересылка происходит по коаксиальному кабелю со скоростью 3 Мбит/сек;
  •      StarLan – модификация оригинальной технологии, где обмен данными происходит по витой паре со скоростью, достигающей 1 Мбит/сек;
  •     10BASE5 – модификация, где скорость работы достигает 10 Мбит/сек. с применением коаксиального кабеля;
  •      StarLan10 – при соединении витой парой впервые скорость стала достигать 10 Мбит/сек., позже была модифицирована в 10BASE-T (задействованы 4 провода);
  •      100BASE-T – модификации, где применяется витая пара (3 либо 5 категории), а скорость достигает 100 Мбит/сек;
  •      100BASE-FX – используют оптоволокно и данные передаются со скоростью, достигающей 100 Мбит/сек., а максимальная длина сегмента достигает 10 км;
  •     1000BASE-T – скорость обмена достигает 1000 Мбит/сек., используется витая пара (тип 5е), в работе принимают участие 4 пары (длина сегмента – до 100 м.);
  •     1000BASE-LH – скорость передачи достигает 1000 Мбит/сек., используется оптоволокно (до 100 км.).
  •     Сегодня технологии Ethernet продолжают развиваться, и к 2015 году ожидается появление технологии, при применении которой скорость достигнет 1 Тбит/сек. Для получения таких высоких показателей понадобится полное техническое обновление, а также использование безволоконной оптики (FSO-технологии). После этого, возможно, вопрос что такое Ethernet, будет иметь другой ответ.
Показать комментарии

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *